Do you wanna build a snowman?

Dear Dotty,

It snowed today. I guess winter is finally here. 

The temperatures here have been dropping to minus so I was kind of expecting it to snow anyway. To be honest, I was quietly praying it would. Mummy says it doesn’t snow where you are, snow always reminds me of winter. Winter is my favourite season. 

I’m not saying I like the cold, it’s just that it reminds me of Christmas!!

Whenever I think about snow, I see the white rooftops and the colourful Christmas lights. I can see Christmas trees and pretty presents wrapped in shiny paper, feel the warm fires and smell the lovely roast. 

There’s thanksgiving and christingle, Christmas carols and New Years celebrations. Snow always reminds me of great times. I admit I was feeling quite low but when it started snowing, I cheered up pretty quickly. 

On my way home from swimming in the evening, i saw a little girl making a snowman. And although the snow was melting and slightly muddy, she seemed to be doing a great job at it. I remember walking past thinking, “that has got to be the dirtiest snowman ever!” But it still made me smile watching her roll balls of dirty snow in the cold. It made me realise that no matter how cold or dirty you may feel your situation is, no matter how alone you think you are, there’s always something you can do to make yourself happy. 

That’s my favourite part of winter. 

It’s facing up to the fact that life isn’t always warm and cosy, that it’s not always rainbows and butterflies. Realising that it can be cold and hard and dirty and lonely, and rather than sitting in doors and sulking about it, you can choose to go out there and build a snowman. 

So do you wanna build a snowman?

Lots of love,

Your granddaughter. 

Leave a Reply

